Home page

The capital of The Netherlands

In addition to confusion about the name of the country, there is an ambiguity about where the capital sits.

Amsterdam is the "hoofdstad" — the capital.

But The Hague (Den Haag) has since 1584 been the regeringszetel — the seat of government. The parliament, the cabinet of ministers, the monarch, and almost all ambassadors are housed there.

Amsterdam is amongst only a few cities worldwide that are officially the capital but which do not seat the national government.